Uncategorized

A Love So Beautiful (致我们单纯的小美好) – Side Story 13.4 [FINAL UPDATE]

Post-Marriage Side Stories | He Became A Father, She Became A Mother (Part 4)

Little kid Jiang Ke had just learnt how to crawl, when Chen Xiaoxi decided to send her to learn the piano when she grew a little bit older. When Jiang Chen was small, he was forced to learn the piano and found it extremely painful, it was painful year by year, plus every Chinese New Year he was pulled out by his parents to perform, so he felt that it was enough to just let her play it casually for fun as she grew up.

It was rare that Chen Xiaoxi was so determined, she had even begun saving up money to buy a piano.

Jiang Chen expressed, before you save up money to buy a piano, shouldn’t you consider if our house can fit a piano? Chen Xiaoxi expressed, you clear out space in your study to place the piano!

It had just been a discussion originally, but one day Jiang Chen came back to find Chen Xiaoxi holding a measuring tape as she gestured here and there in the study, and their two desks had been moved to the door.

Jiang Chen tried to reason with her, for example, Jiang Ke may not necessarily be interested in the piano, for example, Jiang Ke is still small, there’s no need to be so anxious, for example, Jiang Ke’s fingers were so short…… But Chen Xiaoxi was adamant about buying a piano!

As to why Chen Xiaoxi was so adamant about buying a piano for her daughter, it went back to the love-hate between her and Li Wei, actually, there wasn’t any love-hate to speak of, it was just the resentment she felt towards other people’s daughters during the course of her growing up.

Back then, when they had just started primary school, she would see Li Wei with a head of long straight hair sitting in front of the piano, her slender fingers flying, following the swaying motion of her body. Her hairs cut out elegant lines in the air, Chen Xiaoxi touched her own short hair that went down to her shoulders, and thought of what her mum said, “Learning musical instruments, too expensive! Growing out long hair, troublesome, wastes water, and wastes shampoo!” Back then, she hadn’t known what it felt like to like someone, but she had already started to learn how to hate someone, and that was because of envy.

Her musical instrument dream started from then, she would stretch a rubber band taut between two chopsticks, then nail the chopsticks on to a wooden board, and imitate what the people on television did, tilting her fingers up to form orchid fingers* to play the “guzheng*”. Later on she also played the piano, she would draw random piano keys on her school desk, label them “1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7”, and play, her little head rocking and swaying, later on her drawing ability became great, she would draw the piano keys according to the piano in the music room on her sketchbook, and even up till high school, when she had nothing to do, she would still play it for fun. (T/N: orchid finger – a hand gesture indicating grace where one pinches the thumb to the third finger and extends the rest, seen in traditional Chinese dance, opera, and the like) (T/N: Guzheng is a Chinese zither)

After Jiang Chen listened to her story, only then did he come to a sudden epiphany, when they were small, he would often see when he looked over through the window, her sitting upright in front of her desk, her two hands, one up, one down, her head swaying back and forth, her mouth seemed to be muttering something. For a while he even felt chills running down his back, this person couldn’t possibly be doing some weird voodoo magic on him, could she?

Later on, Chen Xiaoxi didn’t end up buying her piano, because she recalled that Jiang Chen’s house had a piano that he used when he was small, and he could pass it on to his daughter. Let’s not bring up the devastating story of how little kid Jiang Ke ended up colouring the piano keys of that piano with the colours of the rainbow later on, after all, forcing someone else to complete your own dreams does have its risks.

 

[FIN]

PREVIOUS CHAPTER | TABLE OF CONTENTS


Amy | Dolly | Xri

Translator’s Note:

Lol, I reserve comments about their parenting skills. But never never force your children to complete your own unfulfilled dreams guys :3 it’s not cool at all :3 and w.r.t a throwaway line in the previous chapter, clearing a husband’s desk shouldn’t specifically be a wife’s job, okay!

ANYWAY, we have finally come to the very end guys 🙂 What a journey it has been! So sorry for all the long months between certain updates and thank you so much for all your patience and support 🙂 Hope that you guys have enjoyed this, it was really fun on our ends 🙂

Not sure what this blog will be used for in the future, but in any case, do come find us on our socials to play with us and obsess over fandom stuff! I forgot to mention that I have twitter now! I use tumblr a lot too. Dolly is on twitter HERE and Xri is also HERE. Come say hi :3

And now that everything’s all completed, we would like to reiterate once more: Our translations are for non-commercial purposes and we do not own any rights to the book at all. Please don’t repost or reprint or conduct any commercial activities with these translations. Thank you!

45 thoughts on “A Love So Beautiful (致我们单纯的小美好) – Side Story 13.4 [FINAL UPDATE]”

  1. Thank you so much. Your translation has brought me the sweet world of this couple. And now I have learned a little more of the Chinese culture. You were great sharing your knowledge and time. Spanish is my native language but if you have not translated the novel into English I would never read it. Much love to you .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I’ve enjoyed both the drama and the novel! I am very happy!♥️ Please keep safe and healthy!

      Like

  2. Thank so so so much Amy, Dolly and Xri
    You, gals, are the best and kindest people which done this translation with so much dedication.. i salute you 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻
    I do really really hope that this is not ur last project, and still patiently waiting your new project soon..*cough cough* hm.. hmm.. like : Put your head on my shoulder, maybe ?
    Kekekekekk… thanks again gals.. xie xie, gumawo, danke, terima kasih
    Xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Amy, Dolly and Xri! A little late to the party since I only just discovered ALSB a week ago, but I count myself fortunate that I didn’t discover it sooner as I wouldn’t have been able to bear waiting for updates til your team was able to complete it. It was beautiful, thank you so much! I never watched the drama and I don’t think I ever will now that I’ve read the novel as translated by you lovely people. This was enough and yet it’s not. I don’t know how I’ll ever get over it. ❤️❤️❤️

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Thank you so much for translating this novel! It was a great read. Though I read it after watching the drama, I enjoyed it just as much. This novel is just too sweet.
    Your translation of it was also really great and smooth to read! Thank you for all the hard work of sharing this with us! Lots of love!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a beautiful journey with you guys!! Thank you so much for all your time & effort in translating this novel! This novel started my journey as well to the world of CDrama (but this one still tops them all).. Again, my big thanks! Take care ladies!!

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Aaaawww Jiang Ke is adorable! you guys…Great job! thank you SO MUCH we love read this novel ❤ I'll repeat every chapter for my pleasure :3

    Like

  6. Thank you for your hard work!! It was enjoyable to be able to read the original novel. Oh and if you have time maybe you could do some other novel translations? I bet it’s not only me that would be excited. Nonetheless, thank you very much!

    Like

  7. Thank you so much! The hardwork and dedication you all gave to provide the translation is so admirable! I appreciate you all. Thank you thank you thank youuu

    Like

  8. Thank you so much!!!! Please translate put your head on my shoulder by the same author their story is cuter and more loving.

    Like

  9. Oh my god its done!!!! Thank you so much for giving us the whole story. I was happy with the ending of the tv series but now im more satisfied because i was given the chance to know their story after they got married.huhu thanks for giving this to us

    Like

  10. Thank you so much for bringing a love so beautiful to us. While reading this novel you painstakingly translated to English, I couldn’t help but think if these parts are this wonderfully phrased translated, how much more beautiful can they be in their original form❤️

    Thank you so much again, ladies, for this work of love. Thank you for making it possible for me and so many others to fall in love with JC and CXX again and again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You speak my mind….
      Secondly, a love is so beautiful is a reason why I started to read Chinese novel.. Thanks for opening my eyes Amy, Dolly n Xri. Thanks for the great job translating this great novel. In fact I think the novel version is far better than drama..😁thanks again.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I want to thank you for this guys was an incredible journey!! 💖again TYSM💕!! For yr time, work, time and effort💜🙏🏻
    Maybe in the future you amazing ladies can translate put your head on my shoulder… take care of yourself!!!❤

    Like

  12. Thank you so much for translating this novel, really appreciate all your hard work!
    I didn’t realise how much material there was in the novel, hoping that we get an epliogue or second season of the drama 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Thank you very much for your hard work translators… it’s finally the end of ALSB novel…I’m a bit emotional lol..I can’t get enough of the drama and thankfully you guys did an english trans for the novel..I’m so happy and so thankful to you guys for sharing us the novel for free!! I love you guys and thank you verrry much!!

    And uhhhmm.. I hope if you have time..you will also translate “put your head on my shoulder” novel.
    I love the author’s works.. and thankyou for translating alsb!

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Thank you for sharing with us your translation of ALSB. I commend your patience in letting us know more of Jiang Chen and Chen Xiao Xi aside from the drama. Til the next time and God bless you all! 🙂

    Like

  15. Thank you so much for your hard work and dedication. I will miss the stories, but I believe it’s a good time and place to end these cute stories.

    Like

  16. 😭😭😭😭 El final 😭😭😭
    Muchas gracias por todo el esfuerzo para lograr la traducción, me encantó, volveré a leerla. Saludos desde Perú, bendiciones 😀 Cada capítulo me los imaginaba a los actores de la novela, lo disfruté.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Thank you so much! This translation is enjoyable to read and the translation notes are so informative. I wish you would translate PYHOMS – no one will do such a through job as you three! Best of luck.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Thank you so much! I have something to read during this quarantine period! Glad that I visited this site to check if there’s an update. Thank you for your hardwork! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  19. THANK YOU SO MUCH GUUUYS! I JUST HAD THE TIME TO FINISH THIS HAHAHA. I HAD SO MUCH FUN.
    ILL FOLLOW YOU IN TWITTER ☺️☺️☺️
    THANK U AGAIN!

    Like

  20. You made my week, it was a beautiful story. The drama was really good, too; but once you fall in love with a story, nothing is enough… life can be a little dull at times and sweet books like this remember us how much beauty can be in human.
    Thank you so much to all the wonderful translators, for letting us enter in a world that otherwise we wouldn’t have known.
    ♡♡♡

    Like

  21. Hi, many thanks for your hardworks..You guys awesome..I really enjoy reading the translation.. First, I’m fallen for the cover song of the ost drama..after that I started to search for the song, the drama, and the novel. I’m glad I found this blog, I’m gratefull for your translation..the story really heartwarming and down to earth..just remind of my own love story kekekeke😊

    Like

  22. I’m a little bit late to the party but I wanted to thank you! I had an amazing time reading this and it was all because of your incredible work and dedication

    Like

  23. year 2023.
    I watched the series on Netflix (Korean) and felt that there were scenes that needed an explanation.

    One of them was the one where she tells him: “You made me very tired last night, and he blushes.” In the Korean series it is not clear what happened that night, they left it to the imagination.

    Then I watched some episodes of the Chinese series on Youtube to see if I could understand those gaps, but I felt the need to look for the book.

    So I set out to look for the book, according to what they said was based on a manga. Others in a book.

    I got the book on Amazon. It was in Chinese. I was disappointed (I only speak Spanish and half know English). I searched and searched until I found you.

    I read the novel with the Google translator. And although when he translates it shows that the speaker is a male character, I knew that he was female.

    I stopped working as I had been doing, just to read. What a shame, but this story caught me.

    There I encouraged three more friends to read it. They, mothers and wives also felt the same as me. A huge need to read and read.

    One day I was sad and it was because I knew that there were few chapters left. I was between the sadness that it was going to end and the joy of knowing more about this peculiar couple. Apparently Chen Xiaoxi was not the only one undecided.

    I want to thank you for her time and effort. I also appreciate having arrived here after 2018, I think I would not have supported the idea of you not updating daily hahahahaha. (Of course you were also living. By the way I hope you are already graduated).

    I also thank those who wrote in the comments, because I felt that I could comment on the book with someone else, apart from my daughter, to whom I only told the parts that she can hear; but she did not dare me to write.

    Thank you very much for all this effort, I loved the book. I read a couple of chapters twice because they were beautiful.

    The last chapters, as a mother, I understood even more, and I felt sorry for Jiang Chen, because Chen Xiaoxi already had a new center in her universe. I find this story familiar.

    For each chapter I have a background song. They are songs in Spanish, but I promise to read again and put each one that came to mind.
    Again, thanks for everything.

    PS: I did this with Google’s English translator, I hope it’s understood.

    Like

Leave a comment